Today was a good day: Finding my happy place, Nritrayagram

Photography

You must have heard the phrase, “go to your happy place.” I used to think that this was absurd. When one is in a state of panic or despair, I was not sure what a “mental” happy place can do? That was until I went to Nritrayagram, a dance school located outside of Bangalore, India.

Imagine a thousand beautiful beaches, one hundred amazing forests, a place on top of the mountain. Now conjure a space that that would render the calm of the beach, the earthiness of the forest and the crisp of the mountain. Sounds like I am exaggerating? I kid you not when I speak of its beauty. The tranquility and serenity I experienced as I traversed this space was ethereal.

The Odissi dancer Protima Gauri started this school in
Hesaraghatta, India in 1990. The students stay on the premises of school and training is from 2-5 years depending on course level. Besides the artistic dance in itself, the architecture and the landscape of the place is mesmerizing.  The earthy tones, the stone structures, the greenery everywhere, and the artifacts come together to create an atmosphere of eternal charm. You can see through my gallery photos that even a casually strewn clothes pin on the steps looked picturesque in this space.

I walked through this dance village admiring every atom of the place and to my luck I witnessed a performance as well. It was one of those days that forever be fond in my heart and memory. It was a day that allowed me to visualize and give meaning to the phrase, go to your happy place.

If you ever get a chance, you must go to the divine place that is Nrityagram.

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Today Was a Good Day.”

14 thoughts on “Today was a good day: Finding my happy place, Nritrayagram

Leave a Reply

