A Home with a View: Jersey City

Photography

I have seen the Manhattan skyline in movies, sitcoms, dramas and ads. Never did I dream that I would live by this view. I did, for two years. I stayed in Jersey City by the waterside in an apartment with teeny tiny closets and bay windows that were wall to wall.

IMG_1644
From my apartment, I could enjoy the coveted view of Manhattan skyline. The One World Trade Center and other architectural wonders were visible from the living and the bedroom bay window.

20140324_162434.jpg
The view was breathtaking, I loved it. But the bay window meant something more than access to a great view. To me, the window opened a world of new experiences. I would stand by the bay window and observe the geese and seagulls in winter. I could hear the loud deck parties in summer. Meditate on the slow ripples of the water. While away time watching the amber sunset and slowing moving boats. I even observed the rescue of a sunken boat once.

I could experience the moods of Manhattan; a rainy day, a sunny day, the orange sunset, a mysterious foggy evening … the skyline and her moods were delightful.

The window was also a social observation deck. The boardwalk below was always busy with people who perhaps lived in the high rise or were visiting to enjoy the view. I could see people in a state of joy, having a moment, feeling alone, or having fun with their friends. It was like a social experiment that was playing out and anyone who lived in this high rise could see and feel things from afar.


It has been a year since I moved out of New Jersey, and I am glad I had the opportunity to call Jersey City as “home” at one point.

cropped-seal_v2-01 Day 1 | Home

 

 

12 thoughts on “A Home with a View: Jersey City

    1. Yup. A sit out, balcony or a bay window changes how we experience the world outside. What is cut off by a wall becomes accessible by these features.

      Like

Leave a Reply

