Photo 101, Architecture: A walk circa 15th Century

Photography, Travel

 

Each and every stone in the Vittala temple has a story to tell. The above photos depict the beautifully dilapidated structure. Although it is in ruins, I am certain a calm came over me when I entered the premises of the temple. The aura of the buildings was intact. I could feel the energy move around me as I walked through the space that has stood the test of time. The stone cold below me, the chill wind blowing, and yet there was a warm feeling of peace within.

As I got up-close and personal with the walls, I discovered intricate carvings of diverse subjects. Perhaps each design has a story to tell. I never found out. Oh, I wish I did!
I wish I associated with the temple more and explored it over days instead of few hours. I only advise that if you do plan a trip to visit Hampi, do plan to spend time there. After all, it has waited for you since the 15th century; it is only fair that a few days should be devoted to discovering its secrets.

Vittala:
The renowned Vittala Temple dates back to the 15th century. It was built during the reign of King Devaraya II (1422 – 1446 A.D.), one of the rulers of the Vijayanagara Empire. Several portions of the temple were expanded and enhanced during the reign of Krishnadevaraya (1509 – 1529 A.D.), the most famous ruler of the Vijayanagara dynasty. He played a significant role in giving the monument its present look. {Karnataka.com}

cropped-seal_v2-01Day 12 | Architecture & Monochrome

 

9 thoughts on “Photo 101, Architecture: A walk circa 15th Century

  1. Hampi seems to be an enchanting place to experience history through architecture… it’s been on my list for a long time, hope I get to see it with my own eyes soon… meanwhile your beautiful photography will feed my imagination, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

