Yay me for Liebster 2016!

Photography

I opened this blog in Feb 2015 but have been more diligent in posting this year. It paid off!  I must thank Pawful Living Doggiebloggie for noticing my posts and nominating Nivs24 for the Liebster Award 2016.

As per the rules, I have to answer 11 questions, provide 11 random facts and nominate 5-11 blogs for the award. So here goes…

The Award

The Liebster Award 2016 is an award that exists only on the internet and is given to bloggers by other bloggers. It is a form of recognizing, admiring and appreciating a fellow bloggers work.

The Q’n’A

Q: Why did you think of starting a blog?

I started taking photos in 2005 and have an endless archive of snaps. I have tried websites like Picassa, Trek Earth, 500PX and so on. None of them enable the photographer to tell a story. I tried WordPress and got hooked to it. It is a great medium to narrate and interact with audiences who share a similar passion.

Q: What is the one most boring thing about blogging according to you?

Keeping the statistics and interaction going. I want to keep pace and post going every day but it can be tedious at times to post on regular basis.

Q: Do you think you can ever criticize or disagree with somebody’s blog or post? Of course respectfully.

I believe that everyone is right about something because they see it from their perspective. Unless of course it is ridiculous and questions the essence of humanity, I am not going to impose my criticism on others.

Q: How did you choose the name of your blog?

Nickname plus birthdate.

Q: What will be your tips for new bloggers?

Keep your blog alive, post regularly. Once your blog has started attracting spam messages in comment, you know you are getting a bit popular 😀

Take part in challenges to meet new friends.

Use tags and categories for every post.

Q: Describe yourself as a person…

Creative, fun and slightly whacky.

Q: What is your biggest addiction in life?

Filter coffee, photography, tailing my husband wherever he goes. Fortunately, he is not annoyed by it (umm, I think).

Q: What is your philosophy/ideology of blogging? For e.g., – I follow ‘Write what you Feel’

I write about how I see things around me and about how I experience the world. People around me wonder why I clicked the gum wrapper on the floor or why is a torn leaf is important to her. I cannot explain why oddities attract me. The odder it is, the better chances of it getting clicked.

Q: How much of your time is spent on writing new posts versus promoting on social media?

I rarely push my content to Social Media like Facebook. I prefer Twitter and Pinterest because people are looking for your “type” of content. I spend time on writing and engaging with the people within WordPress Media than other social media because I feel the community is more personal here.

What do you think of my blog and any suggestions for improvement?

  • I love the blog. It is fun, light and quirky. Maybe you can explore making videos too. I enjoy videos like Maru the Cat and Fum & Gebra; there is great potential for Marlee and you from a video point of view.
  • I think your categories can become menu name on top for better emphasis.
  • There is a disconnect between your blog name and URL. It does not navigate to your blog URL when I click on your blog name. Perhaps you could remedy that since you could potentially lose many visitors because of the disconnect.

Eleven Random Facts

  • I shoot with a Canon EOS Rebel T5i
  • I like alternative healing therapies
  • I had three cats before, none now 😦
  • I read a lot of Dummies guidebook for a variety of topics (just for kicks)
  • I am a neatnik
  • I do not like Custard Apple (it is not a fruit in my opinion)
  • I love my sister to bits and hate the geographic distance between us
  • I trust that everything happens for a reason
  • I need the sunshine like a sunflower
  • I wish my husband is here right now. He is traveling, and I am bored out of my skull
  • I collect wine corks

And the Nominees are:

BASILDONKITCHENS

MIDDLETON ROAD

PEPPE PHOTOGRAPHY®

sonofabeach96

Travels in the Middle East and beyond

Vocabulary in Chunks

Updated on April 7:

I still had five more blogs to nominate, so I have updated the nominee list.

CAMBODIAN BEGINNINGS

iball round the world

BLACK MUTTS

THE BOUQUET

S. P.’s Space of 6 T’s – Tastes, Theatre, Thoughts, Time, Travels, and Treatments

The Q’s to my Nominees

  1. How did you come up with a name for your blog?
  2. Do you change the WordPress theme of your blog?
  3. Describe the inspiration behind the topics you blog about.
  4. If you could choose one celebrity to have dinner with, who would it be and why?
  5. Tea or coffee? Cat or dog? PC or MAC? Day or night?
  6. Do you engage on other social media platforms? If yes, which one has worked for you?
  7. Name a few websites (not blogs), you like to visit.
  8. What is the last book you read? Did you like it?
  9. What camera do you shoot with?
  10. Which is your favorite season and why?
  11. If you could paint anything what would you paint?

If you do accept the nomination, please answer my 11 questions, provide 11 random facts about yourself and nominate 5-11 blogs (with below 1000 followers) for the award. You will have to ask them 11 questions.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Yay me for Liebster 2016!

Leave a Reply

